Praveen Mathur Memorial Award

The Praveen Mathur Memorial Award honors the legacy of Dr. Praveen Mathur, recognizing physicians who have made substantial contributions to pleural disease research and education. This award acknowledges those who exemplify excellence, innovation, and dedication in advancing the understanding and treatment of pleural conditions.  Recipients of the award will be invited to present at the AABIP Annual Conference in Charlotte, August 22-24, 2024.  


  • Nominees must be licensed physicians with a minimum of 10 years of clinical experience post fellowship AND members of the AABIP in good standing.
  • Nominees should have a primary focus in pulmonology, thoracic surgery, or a related field, with a significant portion of their work dedicated to pleural diseases.
  • Candidates must have demonstrated leadership in pleural disease research, including the publication of influential peer-reviewed articles, leading clinical trials, or contributing to significant advancements in the field.


  • Invitation to present at the 2024 AABIP Annual Conference in Charlotte August 22-24, 2024
  • Free registration to the 2024 AABIP Annual Conference, with travel reimbursement up to $1000 and 1-night hotel accommodations.  


Individuals must be nominated by an AABIP member in good standing. Self-nominations are not permitted.
All nominations must include:
  1. Nomination letter outlining the candidate's qualifications and contributions to pleural disease research and education.
  2. At least two (2) letters of support from colleagues or collaborators (one could be the nominator).
  3. Submission of a detailed CV highlighting the nominee's relevant achievements and experiences.
Self-nominations will NOT be accepted. 

Nominations submitted in 2023 who were not selected for the award, will be considered for 2024.

All nominations must be submitted on or before Sunday, June 16, 2024.

Click the link below to submit a nomination for the 2024 AABIP Praveen Mathur Memorial Award.


Click here to view past awardees!

Questions: Contact [email protected]

Other AABIP Awards:


Help support the Cynthia Ray Humanitarian Award, Geoffrey McLennan Memorial Award, and Praveen Mathur Memorial Award.